My Reviews and Their Reviews

Front Cover

I received my first copies of Adoptive Personality in March of 2014. I left Kentucky to go home for a visit with family. I also got in touch with the college I used to work for. I sold many copies to family, friends, and work friends. But I was also allowed to sell to a couple of strangers. Danville Community College was holding the “Celebration of the Arts” week. Without them I wouldn’t have sold many of the books I did. Thank you Sherry Gott and all the others, you made my visit a lot of fun. I holed up in the cold with my twin tom sell a couple more copies at the local flee market. Another occasion I went home for a visit and had a “Gossip at the Park” event where I met a fan and sold a book.

My very first review showed up on Online Book Club. The copy this person read was my only printed copy. It was 8X11 and spiral bound. It cost me $55 to print. A friend of my sister’s wanted to read it because she likes to read. But I was only in town for a couple of days. When I went to look for my copy it was gone. She had taken it home. I got it back plus some stains and that’s how my first book review came about.

My next review was a pass it along kind of review. I sold the book to a very old friend I hadn’t spoken to a in a decade but I still love the girl. It was great catching up with her. She gave me a readers comment that appears in another blog and probably inside the opening pages of the re-release. She read it and loved it. She loaned it to a lady at work. She loved and passed it along to her daughter. This is how my second review came to be. I just have to get her to put her review under my Goodreads book page. At the time of her review I didn’t have a Goodreads page so it doesn’t link up with the rest of them. But she is an invaluable source of what I reader likes in a book.

My third review came out the same day on Crime Book Club. I came across this site using Twitter. When I first joined Twitter I searched out book reviewers. This is one of the first I came across. I liked looking at her reviews of other books. So I messaged them about my book and they were interested. They posted a review. I was even featured in an author interview. And I appeared as a guest blogger writing Discovering Eve.

Since then I have collected more reviews on Goodreads. I became a member of eBook Miner on Goodreads. You can become a member of this group and it has benefits for readers and writers. Self-publishing authors can nominate a book each month and then a selection is made and four nominees are chosen. The winner of Book of the Month distributes their book free of charge to the people who voted for their book. That way the author gets exposure, the readers get a new book, and 20-50 reviews show up on Goodreads by the end of that month. What author doesn’t want a book review to appear for all to see? I definitely do. I have been a member of this group since September. I have nominated my book but I haven’t been selected yet. While I am writing this I realize I need to go nominate my book for the month of November. I can go with my current revision. It will be coming out again with a brand new professional cover done by Cover Your Dreams.

I have however met a talented group of authors to call my cyber friends. I read the descriptions during the nomination process. If I think the book is interesting I private message the author letting them know. I also introduce myself as a fellow writer. I tell them about my genre and book. If they read that genre we agree to swap reviews for each other. If they don’t read my genre that’s okay. Not everyone does. That doesn’t stop me from wanting to review their book if I like it. Those are the reviews I have been posting since starting my blog.

nightcrawler reviewI have met some talented authors and read some great books. I also got to see what other writers thought of my story telling ability. The first author I corresponded with is John Reinhard Dizon. He is a thriller writer. I was privileged to read his terrorist plot thriller Night Crawler. You can find all his latest reviews on Goodreads. We have become Facebook friends and help support each other. Here is his review of Adoptive Personality. My favorite part of his review is when he referred to my book as a devilishly delicious joyride. It’s like a tongue twister.

the benightedThen I met AM Dunnewin through the same Goodreads Group eBook Miner. I found The Benighted (The Benighted Saga #1). She wrote a modern day dark fairy tale. It is YA and fabulous. I love her writing style and storytelling. To see all her reviews visit Goodreads. If you want to know what she thought of Adoptive Personality just click here. I passed this book along to my niece and she really enjoyed it. I love that she referred to my work as a graphic dark fantasy.

taken from Goodreads

taken from Goodreads

This author Amad Ardalan peaked my interest with his pitch about a gardener in Baghdad. My husband is a soldier and has been to Afghanistan so I was curious to see what it was like over there. What better way than to experience it through a writer’s eyes in a book. I read The Gardener of Baghdad. This book will stay with me. It was a change the way you think kind of engaging story. To see everyone’s reviews go to Goodreads. Or if you just want to see mine. He has marked my book as to-read. I wonder what he thinks of my twisted mind…

by Luke Christodoulou

by Luke Christodoulou

Next was my current favorite for action thriller genre. I got to introduce myself to Luke Christodoulou. He is a fabulous writer. I couldn’t put The Olympus Killer (Greek Island Mysteries #1) down. To see my review visit here. I voted for him in October when his novel was nominated and he won. My review was already posted. I guess you could say I got an advance screening. He now has a 4.36 rating with

by Lauren Clark

by Lauren Clark

90 ratings and 34 reviews.

Then I got to experience the talented and comedic Lauren Clarke. Her book Pie Girls was a great romantic comedy. It made me want to go out and eat pie. To see my review go here. She called Adoptive Personality, dark, chilling, and sexy, see her review.

Nathan Roten

Nathan Roten

I have read Aegis: Catalyst Grove by Nathan Roten. Aegis: Catalyst Grove (Aegis Series, #1) is a fantasy thriller. Follow some special young kids in the trials of their very future. Check out my review.

And then there are the great connections I have made since starting this blog on WordPress. I started following Romance Novels for the Beach blog.

She writes some fantastic blogs about books. Whether she is giving the book a bad rating or a good one the post is always entering and contains real thoughts on her reading experience. After I started following the blog I private messaged a request. Would she except a copy of my book and post a review. And she did just that. Her review was my absolute favorite. She said, “Umm…what just happened? Anyone? Oh yeah, my mind was just blown all over the freakin’ walls, and I have a feeling I’ll still be picking up the pieces a month from now.”

That’s how I met a fellow follower of Romance Novels for the Beach blog. She loved the review and marked it as a to be read. So I messaged her and offered the book for free if she would post a review on her blog What Trish Thinks. This blogger is a reader I like to talk to. Her posts are so comedic and informative. I love the way she gets in the character’s heads. See her review. She even helped with advice at one point in my edit stage.

I have contacted other readers from that Romance Novels for the Beach comment feed and once I finish my latest edit I will be sending it out for more reviews. I also have to check in with eBook Giveaway winners I had a while back to see if anyone else is ready to put up a review.

given by the author Tammie Painter

given by the author Tammie Painter

During much of this I have neglected my review of The Trials of Hercules by Tammie Painter. Another Goodreads author I came across on eBook Miner. The Trials of Hercules (The Osteria Chronicles, #1) is the author’s imagination concerning the story of Hercules. Keep in mind I am a big Hercules fan. I have watched movies and TV shows growing up. See my review. This review has been a long time coming and not because the book was bad. Life just got in the way.

So while I pop over to another screen to finally give this book the justice it deserves here’s a quick link to all my Adoptive Personality Homepage and my Reader’s Choice Review Homepage